LOVE … What does it mean?

According to Google “an intense feeling of deep affection”. But how many types of love can we find? Probably too many we can’t even describe. But did you know According to the Ancient Greeks there are

VIII types of Love?


I. Agape — Unconditional Love
The highest and most radical type of love according to the Greeks.
This is an altruistic, selfless, unconditional love. it is unconditional love, bigger than ourselves, boundless compassion, an infinite empathy.

II. Eros — Romanic Love

Eros is named after the Greek god of love and fertility. Therefore, it is usually associated with romantic, passionate, and physical love. It is an expression of sexual passion and desire. 



III. Philia — Affectionate Love

The Greeks defined this kind of love as “affectionate love.” In other words, it is the kind of love that you feel for your friends.

Ironically, the ancient Greeks thought this kind of love was better than Eros (sexual love), because it represented love between people who considered themselves equals.


IV. Philautia — Self-love

The Greeks understood that in order to care for others, we must first learn to care for ourselves. 


V. Storge — Familiar Love

Storge is a natural form of affection that often flows between parents and their children, and children for their parents.


 VI. Pragma — Enduring Love

almost the opposite of Eros (sexual love). Eros tends to burn out quickly because of its passion and intensity. However, Pragma is a love that has matured and developed over a long period of time. It is beyond the physical, it has transcended the casual, and it is a unique harmony that has formed over time.


VII. Ludus - Playful Love

Although Lupus has a bit of the erotic Eros in it, it is much more than that. The Greeks thought of Ludus as a playful form of love, for example, the affection between young lovers. 


VIII.Mania - Obsessive Love

Mania love is a type of love that leads a partner into a type of madness and obsessiveness. It occurs when there is an imbalance between Eros and Ludus.


We often associate Love with couples and romantic affections but the truth is there are many ways to love. Today I want to remind you how important self-love is.


To be able to give LOVE to anyone in your life, it’s very important to feel complete and happy with yourself first. Never sacrifice your well-being and happiness to please others. It also means not settling for less than you deserve.

Self-love motivates you to make healthy choices in life. These things may be in the form of eating healthy, exercising or having healthy relationships.

Think for a second… What have you done recently for yourself?

Let’s try to forget all the madness about the romance on Valentine’s Day and celebrate with those that are there for us every day unconditionally.

Celebrate true friendship with those that stay strong next to us for years no matter how much you change…

Celebrate with Family, with colleagues with those that bring happiness and positiveness to our lives.


We believe Valentine's Day should be more than just roses and pretty gifts, it should be a day to celebrate and remember how beautiful is to LOVE and to be LOVED or if you want to try something different this year you could travel all the way to Bulgaria and celebrate "Trifon Zarezan". 


Yes! Maybe you didn't know but somewhere in the world 14th of February holds a different celebration, Trifon Zarezan the patron of winegrowers and winemakers. That's why it is celebrated as the day of the wine. And yes, a lot of wine is involved. After all wine and love are a perfect combination, don't you think? 


If you are into gifts and special presents for this day I recommend something unique that shows how much you know that person. Flowers and chocolate are overrated, pay attention to what she/he really loves and give something that could last a long time, like your LOVE... or a Ring.